World Barista Championship (WBC)
What's WBC
The World Barista Championship (WBC) is an international coffee competition. The organisation, founded by the SCAE (Speciality Coffee Association of Europe) and SCAA (Specialty Coffee Association of America), serves to promote excellence in espresso coffee, to encourage the profession of barista and to involve the world’s public in an annual championship event that is the culmination of local, national and regional competitions held in 56 countries all over the world.
The aims of the WBC

WBC will pursue four aims:

  1. To promote the growth, excellence and recognition of the profession of barista;
  2. To increase the knowledge and experience of the barista in preparing and serving speciality espresso coffee through its competitions;
  3. To promote consumer awareness and consumption of speciality coffee through the barista;
  4. To become the first world barista event recognised at global levels.

WBC competition

Every year, during the competition, national champion baristas have to challenge each other, preparing 4 espressos, 4 cappuccinos and 4 personal drinks that have to respect strict standards, in just 15 minutes. (Link to WBC Rules & Regulations). Each barista takes care of the preparation and the quality of their beverages, the ingredients and also of setting the scene, because they accompany their performance with a musical background capable of creating the right atmosphere. The judging panel at the WBC final is comprised of 30 certified judges from all over the world, who have passed a difficult examination and gained other experience in this role. Their task is extremely important and involves assessing performances from sensory, preparation technique and creative – overall presentation - points of view. The personal drink gives baristas the chance to express their creativity and to show judges their knowledge of coffee, which is the individual expression of their skills and experience. Only the best 12 baristas qualify for the semi-final and only six of these will compete in the final for the title of World Barista Champion 2010.

logo aurelia

WBC Champion's machine

To challenge champions want the best espresso coffee machines. For this reason Aurelia , Nuova Simonelli's best machine, was selected in 2008 as the official WBC machine (link to video ).


WBC Hall of Champions

World Barista Championships in the past editions:

2014 - Hidenori Izaki (Japan)

2013 - Pete Licata (USA)

2012 - Raul Rodas (Guatemala)

2011 - Alejandro Mendez (El Salvador)

2010 - Michael Phillips (USA)

2009 - Gwilym Davies (UK)

2008 - Stephen Morrissey (Ireland)

2007 - James Hoffmann (UK)

2006 - Klaus Thomsen (Denmark)

2005 - Troels Overdal Poulsen (Denmark)

2004 - Tim Wendelboe (Norway)

2003 - Paul Bassett (Australia)

2002 - Fritz Storm (Denmark)

2001 - Martin Hildebrandt (Denmark)

2000 - Robert Thoresen (Norway)